MLB 2016 regular season recap and playoff preview

After six months and more than 2,000 games, the 2016 MLB regular season has come to an end. Despite the possibility of makeup games or tiebreakers games on Monday or Tuesday, there are no extra games needed beyond Sunday’s scheduled end of the season. All of the playoff teams are set, so we’re going to take a look back at my preseason predictions to see how I did with my projected playoff teams, as well as the over/unders I chose for each of the 30 teams. We’ll first take a look at the over/unders, going division by division.

American League East
Baltimore’s over/under was 79.5. I went over and they finished 89-73, well over the number.
Boston’s over/under was 86.5. I went under and they finished over, at 93-69.
New York’s over/under was 85.5. I went under, and they ended up 84-78, just missing the target.
Tampa Bay’s over/under was 81.5. I went under but thought they’d get to close to it. It wasn’t close; their 68-94 record was the second worst in the majors.
Toronto’s over/under was 87.5. i went over and barely got it, as they finished the year 89-73.

American League Central
Chicago’s over/under was 80.5. I took the over, and they finished 78-84 to go under.
Cleveland’s over/under was 84.5. I took the under, thinking they’d be right around .500, but they ended up an impressive 94-67.
Detroit’s over/under was 81.5. I went over, and they finished 86-75 to get the over.
Kansas City’s over/under was 85.5. I took the over, and they finished .500 at 81-81.
Minnesota’s over/under was 78.5. I thought they’d go a game or two over that number, they ended with a MLB-worst 59-103 record. That was a bad call.

American League West
Houston’s over/under was 87.5. I went over, but they didn’t make it, ending 84-78.
Los Angeles’ over/under was 81.5. I took the over, but they finished just 74-88.
Oakland’s over/under was 75.5. I took the under, and they finished 69-93.
Seattle’s over/under was 82.5. I went with the under and got that one wrong; they finished 86-76.
Texas’ over/under was 84.5. I took the over, and they easily topped it, with an AL-best 95-67 record.

National League East
Atlanta’s over/under was 66.5 I went over, and they made it, with a 68-93 record.
Miami’s over under was 79.5. I went under, and they finished 79-82 to just barely sneak in for the under.
New York’s over/under was 89.5. I took the over, but they didn’t get there, finishing 87-75.
Philadelphia’s over/under was 69.5. I went under, but they finished over, 71-91.
Washington’s over/under was 89.5. I predicted they’d go over, and they did with a 95-67 record.

National League Central
Chicago’s over/under was 92.5. I took the over, and they ended the season with the best record in the majors, going 103-58-1.
Cincinnati’s over/under was 70.5. I went under, and they ended up 68-94.
Milwaukee’s over/under was 69.5. I took the under, but they finished 73-89.
Pittsburgh’s over/under was 86.5. I went over, but they had a disappointing year, finishing just 78-83-1.
St. Louis’ over/under was 87.5. I went over, but they missed it at 86-76.

National League West
Arizona’s over/under was 82.5. I took the over, but they finished 69-93.
Colorado’s over/under was 70.5. I went under, but their final record was 75-87.
Los Angeles’ over/under was 88.5. I thought it would be close but went under. They finished 91-71 to go over.
San Diego’s over/under was 72.5. I took the over, but they ended up 68-94.
San Francisco’s over/under was 89.5. I went over, but their 87-75 record missed the mark.

Overall, I didn’t have a great year with the over/under predictions, finishing 12-18.

I did better picking the playoff teams, though, particularly in the National League. There, my picks were:

NL East Champs: New York Mets
NL Central Champs: Chicago Cubs
NL West Champs: San Francisco Giants
NL Wild Cards: Pittsburgh PIrates, Washington Nationals

All of those teams except the Pirates made the playoffs, though the Mets and Giants didn’t win their divisions. The Nationals, Cubs and Dodgers are the division winners, with the Mets and Giants the wild card teams.

In the American League, I didn’t do as good. My picks were:

AL East Champs: Toronto Blue Jays
AL Central Champs: Kansas City Royals
AL West Champs: Texas Rangers
AL Wild Cards: Houston Astros, Detroit Tigers

The Blue Jays and Rangers are the only two I got right. The division winners are the Red Sox, Indians and Rangers. The Blue Jays and Orioles are the wild cards.

All told, I got six out of 10 right, but most importantly my World Series teams — Blue Jays and Cubs — both made it. My preseason prediction was Blue Jays over Cubs in six games, but I’m not as confident about that now as I was before the season started.

Here’s what the playoff bracket looks like, as depicted on MLB’s site:

mlbbracket

Stay tuned in the coming days for my previews of the two Wild Card games, as well as my playoff predictions after the Wild Card winners are determined.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

