Super Bowl LI Prop Bets: Coin toss, Trump mentions, Lady Gaga hair color?

The Super Bowl is the most-watched TV event in the U.S. every year, with well over 100 million people watching the game. That audience is split up between football fans and casual viewers who watch the game for the commercials and/or the halftime show, which features Lady Gaga this year. There are also the bettors who watch the game hoping to make money off of their wagers. But because the Super Bowl is such a big deal, you can bet on much more than just the line or the over/under. And Super Bowl LI is no different. There are a number of interesting bets you can make, often involving people not actually playing in the game. I’ll list some of the more unique bets here, including my picks, but without the odds that you would find if you were actually betting on them.

Coin flip
Heads
Tails
This is the classic Super Bowl prop bet. It’s obviously purely random. I’ll go heads.

How long will it take for Luke Bryan to sing the U.S. national anthem?
Over/under 2 minutes, 15 seconds
This is another classic Super Bowl prop. Luke Bryan doesn’t strike me as the type of singer who will stretch the anthem out as long as possible, as some others have in previous Super Bowls, so I’ll take the under on this one.

How many times will “Trump” be said on TV during live broadcast (halftime/commercials excluded)?
Over/under 1.5
I’ll take the over because Brady and Belichick famously supported Trump during the election so I think he could be mentioned. Play-by-play announcer Joe Buck and analyst Troy Aikman just need to say his name once each in order to make the over.

Will “Houston, we have a problem” be said on TV during live broadcast (halftime/commercials excluded?
Yes
No
I’ll go no here because I think the overused cliche would only by used during the broadcast if it’s a blowout and one team falls far behind. I think it’ll be a close game so I don’t think the phrase is said.

What color will Lady Gaga’s hair be when she comes on stage for the halftime show?
Blonde
Any other color
I’m going to take the field here and pick any other color. This is the biggest stage Lady Gaga has ever performed on and with her personality, I don’t think she’ll go as conservative as having blonde hair.

Which song will Lady Gaga play first during the halftime show?\n”Born this Way”
“Bad Romance”
“Edge of Glory”
“Poker Face”
“Just Dance”
Any other song
I’m going to go with “Edge of Glory” here. I’m unfamiliar with the song, but with the title it seems appropriate for a Super Bowl halftime show since both teams are on the edge of glory by being one-half away from a Super Bowl title.

How many times will “deflate” or “Deflategate” be said on TV during live broadcast?
Over/under 1.5
I think it’ll be over. Buck and Aikman will have to mention the four-game suspension Tom Brady served at the start of the season. Since Deflategate was the reason for the suspension, I think it’ll be said a couple times.

How many times will Gisele Bundchen be shown on TV during the broadcast?
Over/under 1.5
She’s Brady’s wife. I expect her to be shown at least once near the beginning of the game, so there would need to be just one more appearance for the over. I’m going over.

Will the opening kickoff result in a touchback?
Yes
No
I’ll take yes on this one, which seems like the more likely outcome.

Will either team score three straight times?
Yes
No
I’m expecting a close game and think it’ll be close throughout so this is an easy no for me.

Will LeGarrette Blount score a touchdown in the first half?
Yes
No
I’m expecting multiple touchdowns from Blount, which is why I picked him as my MVP, so I think he’ll get at least one in the first half. Yes.

Total yardage of all touchdowns
Over/under 100.5
I’m expecting a relatively high-scoring game so there will be a few touchdowns. Just one long one puts it on the path to the over. A long touchdown reception by Julian Edelman is a distinct possibility. With that out there, I’ll go over here.

Will the Patriots convert a fourth-down attempt?
Yes
No
The Patriots go for it on fourth down more than most teams so I’ll go with the odds and take yes on this one.

Distance of the first Matt Ryan touchdown pass?
Over/under 13.5
The Falcons have some receivers who can make big plays. Over.

Total number of penalties in the game by both teams
Over/under 12.5
The Patriots don’t get a lot of penalties so I think the under is the way to go here.

Total receptions by Mohamed Sanu
Over/under 4
I think Bill Belichick’s game plan will be to limit Julio Jones’ production. If he’s successful with that, Sanu will have to step up so I’ll go over.

Who will throw the first touchdown pass?
Patriots
Falcons
Although they didn’t in the AFC Championship game, the Patriots usually defer if they win the coin toss. With that in mind, I expect the Falcons to get the ball first. If Ryan has the first chance on offense, I think he has a good shot at throwing a touchdown pass. Going Falcons.

Total rushing yards for LeGarrette Blount
Over/under 57.5
Again, Blount is my MVP pick so I’m going way over on that number.

Longest successful field goal in the game
Over/under 47.5
The Patriots have one of the best kickers in the league in Stephen Gostkowski. If he has a shot at a 48-plus yarder, I think he nails it. And Matt Bryant on the other side is also a pretty good kicker who also has a shot at converting a long one. Over.

What will be higher on Super Bowl Sunday?
Patriots total points scored
Russell Westbrook points scored
I’m predicting 31 points for the Patriots. Westbrook is averaging 30.8 points per game this season, which puts him right there with that total. He’s playing the Blazers, who are near the bottom of the league in points allowed. Given that, I think Westbrook will surpass his season average so I’ll go with Westbrook points scored.

Higher number?
Phil Mickelson fourth round score
Patriots rushing yards
Mickelson will likely score in the low 70s in the fourth round. I keep going back to the fact that I expect a big game from Blount, so I’ll go with Patriots rushing yards.

Who will the Super Bowl MVP mention first?
God
Team/teammates
Coach
Family
Owner
Donald Trump
Does not mention anyone above
I’m expecting a Patriots win, which means a Patriots MVP. I think Belichick has drilled the idea of team into his players’ heads so I think the MVP mentions team/teammates first.

Will Matt Ryan win regular season MVP and Super Bowl MVP?
Yes
No
I think he’ll be named the regular season MVP, but because I’m projecting a Patriots win I don’t think he’ll be Super Bowl MVP. No.

What color will the liquid be that is poured on the winning coach? (Bovada)
Clear
Lime/green
Orange
Yellow
Red
Blue
Purple
It was blue Gatorade when the Patriots won Super Bowl XLIX so I’ll go with blue for them again.

If the Patriots win, will Brady, Belichick or Kraft be seen shaking Roger Goodell’s hand on TV?
Yes
No
Goodell having to give the Patriots the Lombardi Trophy if they win has been a discussion all season because of the Deflategate punishment levied on the team. I’m going yes here because it’ll be best for all parties involved if the Patriots show there’s no ill-will with the commissioner.

(Prop bets from CBS Sports and Football Outsiders)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

