My 2nd annual way-too-early MLB All-Star Game ballot

We’re barely a month into the 2017 Major League Baseball season and the league, as it has done in recent years, has already released the ballot for July’s All-Star Game, allowing people to vote up to 35 times per day per email address, all so the league can boast about how many ballots are cast by the time voting ends in the summer. As I said last year, I’m not a fan of allowing this excessive voting, but it is what it is. At least MLB has fixed the other major issue I had with the game: the All-Star Game no longer determines which league gets home-field advantage in the World Series. Per the new collective bargaining agreement, which was agreed to in the offseason, home-field advantage will now go to the World Series participant that has the better regular-season record — as it should be.

Even though I feel it’s too early to vote on all-stars in early May, since MLB is allowing people to do it already, I’ll make my preliminary choices for both the all-stars in both the American and National leagues, with updated ballots in the coming weeks — as the all-star picture becomes clearer — as we get closer to the game July 11 in Miami. And as MLB begins releasing the balloting results, I’ll critique how the fans are doing in making their choices.

American League

1B Miguel Cabrera, Tigers: He’s not leading the league in batting average or home runs, but he’s having one of the best all-around seasons at the plate among AL first basemen, so I’ll give Miggy the nod here.
2B Jonathan Schoop, Orioles: Schoop is hitting near .300 and is near the top of the league in home runs and RBI at the position and he’s on a team that has one of the best records in the majors.
SS Francisco Lindor, Indians: LIndor is performing well offensively at a position that lacks offensive output. He leads AL shortstops in homers and RBI, and he’s hitting above .300. Lindor is an easy choice here.
3B Miguel Sano, Twins: He’s finally hitting for average to go along with the power he has shown throughout his career. This was a toss-up between Sano and the Indians’ Jose Ramirez, but Sano has slightly better numbers so he gets my vote.
C Salvador Perez, Royals: Perez is having the best overall season at a position that isn’t traditionally strong offensively. He earns my vote behind the plate.
DH Nelson Cruz, Mariners: He’s having a great season offensively and none of the other options at DH really come close to his stats thus far in the season. An easy selection for me.
OF Khris Davis, A’s; Aaron Judge, Yankees; Mike Trout, Angels: Davis and Judge are two of the only players in the majors who has already reached the 10-homer plateau on the season. Davis’ average isn’t great but the home runs are enough to give him my vote, while Judge is hovering around the .300 mark as he is making a case to win the AL Rookie of the Year award. Trout, meanwhile, doesn’t have quite as many home runs as the other guys, but he’s hitting well over .300 and is having a typical Mike Trout season, which is usually good enough for an all-star selection.

2017al-1

My first American League all-star ballot of 2017

National League

1B Ryan Zimmerman, Nationals: The veteran first baseman is among the league leaders in many offensive categories. Brewers 1B Eric Thames has obviously hit a lot of home runs thus far, as well, but I need to see more from him before completely buying into it. Zimmerman is the choice here.
2B Daniel Murphy, Nationals: Zimmerman’s teammate is continuing the strong offensive attack he’s been on since the 2015 postseason, when he was with the Mets. He gets my vote for NL second baseman.
SS Corey Seager, Dodgers: There is no real standout at the position, but Seager is the best of the bunch as he continues with another good season to follow-up his strong rookie campaign of a season ago.
3B Jake Lamb, Diamondbacks: The usual suspects, like Cubs 3B Kris Bryant and Rockies 3B Nolan Arenado, aren’t having their typical seasons, opening up this spot for someone else to take. I’ll go with Lamb here because he’s having the best overall season at the plate of the third basemen.
C Jett Bandy, Brewers: I suspect this pick may change as we get closer to the All-Star Game, but Bandy is hitting for average and has a few home runs so he’ll get my pick at the position not known for its offense.
DH With no DH in the National League, fans don’t get to vote for one.
OF Charlie Blackmon, Rockies; Bryce Harper, Nationals; Matt Kemp, Braves: Harper is having one of the best seasons of all major leaguers, harkening back to his MVP season of 2015. He’s the obvious choice here, with Blackmon the second option for me. I didn’t see any clear choices for the third spot, so I gave it to Kemp, who’s doing surprisingly well so far in 2017. Like with Bandy, Kemp may fall off my ballot as time goes on, but I’ll give it to him for now.

2017nl-1

My first National League all-star ballot of 2017

Starting pitchers are not on the ballot and are chosen by the all-star managers, but I’ll go with a make my choices, with Dallas Keuchel of the Astros in the AL and the Nationals’ Gio Gonzalez in the NL.

I’ll be updating the ballot as the season continues so keep checking back in for updates.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 thoughts on “My 2nd annual way-too-early MLB All-Star Game ballot

  1. Pingback: My 2nd Annual Way-Too-Early MLB All-Star Game Ballot - Baseball Bloggers Alliance

  2. Pingback: My updated MLB All-Star Game ballot at the end of May | Thoughts From Scott

  3. Pingback: My updated MLB All-Star Game ballot at the end of May - Baseball Bloggers Alliance

Leave a Reply

